Maha Navaratri Festival Dedicated To Worship Of Nav Durga

The festival of Navratris which literally means ‘nine nights’ would be celebrated again this year as Shaaradiya navratris beginning from October 1 to October 10 in 2016. This time the Navratris are carrying special significance and if you do ‘poojan’ of goddess this time, you would be bestowed with special benefits in spontaneously. It is really a good time to call upon the blessings of the Divine Feminine Energy in this shaaradiya navtrari poojan.

This time, the planetary combinations form auspicious combinations that would be witnessed nearly after 350 years. Auspiciousness is evident by increase of one navratri day in this particular navratri.

Traditionally, Navratri is an occasion that has nine nights and ten days where special saadhna is done along with fasting. This results in purification of body and mind. This prepares the human body frame to tackle the onset of seasonal change from autumn to winter. Fasting helps to detoxify the body provided it is done in the right manner.

The chanting of various mantras of devi help the devotee to get in touch with his or her own internal realms of energy and strengthens the aura and mind. The shaaradiya navratri are considered especially auspicious. After the poojan for nine nights and 10 days, the culmination finally occurs into Vijaydashmi. This day again has a special significance in Hindu calendar.

  • On the very first day of navratri, invocation of the goddess is done and then devi is dwelled in the form of ‘ghat’ by doing ‘ghatsthapana’ at a auspicious time known as ‘muhurta’. Navratri is a festival that is amongst the most popular ones. It is celebrated in most of the states of India with their peculiar customs and rituals.
  • In Gujarat, Garba is the traditional dance that is done to mark Navratris. This is traditional dance where goddess in remembered through devotional songs and group dance is done and youth are especially crazy about it.
  • In West Bengal, Goddess Durga is worshipped in the last three days of Navratris and this is known as known as ‘Durga Saptami’, ‘Durga Ashtmi’ and ‘Durga Navami’.
  • Arrival of Durga on first day of pratipada is said to be on a horse when the first day of navratri begins on Saturday or Tuesday. It is said to indicate a forthcoming war amongst nations.
  • Arrival Of Devi is said to be on elephant when pratipada falls on a Sunday or a Monday. This indicates a plentiful rainfall.
  • When Pratipada falls on a Thursday and Friday, Devi is said to ascend to earth in a palanquin.

When Pratipada falls on Wednesday, goddess is said to arrive on a boat.

  • On the first day of Pratipada, Ghatasthapana is done and worship of Devi Shailputri is carried out.
  • The color of this day is Grey.
  • (1st October)On second day, (Pratipada continued), Chandra darshan or sighting of the moon is done and the color of this day is orange.
  • (2nd October)Third day is the day of Brahmcharini Puja.
  • The color of the day is white.
  • (3rd October)- DwitiyaFourth day belongs to Chandraghanta pooja.
  • The color is red.
  • (4th October) (Tritiya).
  • Fifth day belongs to Kushmanda Devi.
  • Varad Vinaayak Chauth also befalls on this day.
  • The color of the day is Royal Blue.
  • (5th October)Sixth day is the Panchami or the Skandmata pooja.
  • The color of the day is yellow.
  • (6th October)The pooja on the seventh day or is called Saraswati Awahan or Katayayani pooja.
  • The color of the day is green.
  • (7th October)The eight day is the Kalratri pooja and this is also known as Saptami.
  • The color of the day is peacock color.
  • (8th October)The ninth day is the Mahagauri Pooja or the Sandhi pooja.
  • This is also known as Durga ashtami.
  • The color of day is purple color.
  • (9th October)The tenth day of the Navratris is known as Navami.
  • And this day is also known as Maha Navmi or Ayudha puja.
  • (10th October)Dashami Parana: would be celebrated on 11th October.
  • Durga poojan or Vijay dashami are the other names of the day.

Each of color assigned to the days is that correlating to the Navgrahas. Women adorn themselves in these various colors on different days and at nights Garba is performed.

It is worth noting that Navratris are dedicated to Feminine Form of Divine. So much so, on the eighth and the ninth days of navratris (ashtami or navami), culmination takes place in the form of ‘Kanya pooja’. This means young girls are considered as form of Devi and worshipped on this day. This day also teaches our society the importance of girl child and feminine power.

The importance of women empowerment is subtly hidden in navratris and we, as individuals need to acknowledge and realize this.

Leave a Reply